President Buhari Appoints New NNPC GMD, Kachikwu to Serve as Board Chairman

President-Muhammadu-Buhari-BNPresident Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), as provided for under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.

This was disclosed in a statement signed by Buhari’s Special Adviser (Media and Publicity), Femi Adesina on Monday.

The new board is composed of the following: Chairman – Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum; Group Managing Director – Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru; The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance. Others on the Board are Abba Kyari, Dr Thomas M.A John, Dr Pius O. Akinyelure, Dr Tajuddeen Umar, Mohammed Lawal, and Yusuf Lawal.

The statement added that President Buhari urged the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, “and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset”.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by